Read all about it!

For years I have called myself a writer and had quite a few successes with published stories and articles. I’ve even self-published a full length novel which is still selling, even on Kindle. But I’ll tell you about that another time.

This is about blogging and suddenly I’m tongue-tied; or should that be finger/keyboard-tied? There is a million topics I would love to discuss with as many people – okay, perhaps not so many people, but what I really would like is for people to comment and share experiences.

I have a vast number of health tips to share, especially where diabetes is concerned. My husband is a ‘victim’ of the condition and over the years we have learned how to best cope with living with it. So often people think only of the patients and forget about those who care for them, especially those who feed them.

My belief system is contrary : I practice Wicca and thus have built up a lovely library of herb lore, folk lore and wonderful stories to share. My husband on the other hand, subscribes to the Norse gods and almost always wears his Hammer of Thor in some shape or other – he has several. Just think of all the things we could talk about in these contexts!

I’m a keen gardener and have learned a lot about tending gardens in Johannesburg as well as in Cyprus – two vastly different climatic regions.

I have a recipe book that dates back some 40 years, all lovingly collected and mostly handwritten. Some of these recipes come from my grandmothers, my mother, family members including my daughter (who lives in Pretoria, South Africa) as well as friends from across the globe.

My travel experiences over the years cover almost every continent and in almost each country I visited, I picked … a recipe book to bring home. I must have about 150 of those!

On top of all the above, I am a dedicated meditator and have been a fan of Deepak Chopra’s for the last 30-odd years. I subscribe to the belief that we were born to be happy and everything that interferes with that is simply distraction. We deal with whatever it is, move on and be happy again.

So, my next blog will cover one of these topics or, if you would like to suggest one, let’s do it!

2 responses to “Read all about it!

Leave a Reply

