THAT WAS THE WEEK THAT WAS

Last week was a week of curious incidents – almost like going down the rabbit hole …

Scientists say that everything in the Universe vibrates as everything is made up of energy. Energy cannot be destroyed nor can it be changed; energy IS. They (the scientists) also maintain that when we die, that energy field that is us, detaches itself from the mortal vehicle and rejoins the ultimate energy field from whence it came – the Universal Matrix.

Another theory is that our dear departed people use that energy field and when they wish to make contact, they ‘play’ with electrics and electronics to get our attention. Well, since Monday morning, I have gone through a series of ‘faulty’ equipment that then miraculously got back to working order without any interference. First it was my computer screen that just didn’t want to come to life and I played ambulance and drove it to the computer hospital – only to have the ‘doctor’ tell me there was nothing wrong with it. So, next up was the tower which was also diagnosed as having ‘nothing wrong’ with it.

On getting back home, I set it all up again and both components worked perfectly … but then the speakers just didn’t want to tune up! However, later on they did.

And then, on Tuesday, my dishwasher decided all by itself to change its programme and also to close the inlet valve without interference from anyone in the house. I washed up all the dishes by hand and then tried the dishwasher again – which this time worked perfectly once more! I can tell you, I was not just a bit perturbed … but, I was smiling as I then realised that there was something I needed to take notice of.

And then it happened again! The PC finally just didn’t want to do its stuff although the hard drive is just over a year old. But the most annoying of all was my big TV screen deciding that it didn’t wish to comply with any commands … that was Wednesday evening. Now, I knew that Thursday was the big day of remembering but it also happened to be the day on which I was paying the lawyer who had been handling the probate process. Unbelievably this man knocked off €5000 off the bill, for no reason at all. And the bill originally came to more or less what I had expected in the first place!

I found all this rather disturbing. Unlike Demi Moore in “Ghost” I was (and always am) totally receptive – just TELL me, please! And when finally the answer was revealed, it nearly knocked my socks off!

***

On the 8th of August, it was the anniversary of losing my beloved husband. I knew it was going to be a difficult week but never dreamed just how difficult.

We have always had boxer dogs. The two I still have came into our lives almost eight years ago. Although they are vastly different in that one is a thoroughbred from breeders in England and the other one was turfed out in mid-winter here in Cyprus because she was obviously the runt of the litter, they grew up like sisters. Donald was particularly fond of Katie who came from the UK and Jessie was more ‘my’ dog. Jessie was not entirely boxer as you could call her a half-blood, Boxer mixed with Staffodrshire Terrier but she turned out beautiful anyway!

When Donald passed on, Katie took it very hard. She didn’t want to eat for three days until I lured her with a piece of cheese that I put inside his sweaty old cap on the floor in front of her. She ignored the cheese but put her head on top of the cap and just lay there. She stayed like that for more than an hour and then got up and ate her meal. It was uncanny to say the least.

About a month after that she started coming up in bumps all over her beautiful velvety coat. I took her to the vet who diagnosed a deep derma infection and she was put on a course of antibiotics. The bumps went away only to reappear some three weeks after completion of the course and this time there was an added problem of infection in the callouses on her ‘heels’ – the hard areas on which they usually sit. Back onto antibiotics she went and once that was finished, the bumps once again were gone and the callouses healed. Alas, that was not the end of it.

Katie developed an ulcer on her left cornea and I went to a different veterinary surgeon, one I had used previously for the same problem with another dog. Boxers are prone to skin and eye problems – it’s just par for the course. The operation was perfectly successful but the bumps had reappeared together with a slight alteration in the look of the heels.

This vet put her on an even stronger course of antibiotics which helped 95% and I decided to continue with the antibiotics a little longer, with the aim of achieving a 100% effectiveness. However, there was further deterioration and by Wednesday, the 7th, I decided that enough was enough – something had to be done!

My question to the Energy Field was: “What?”

And the answer nearly knocked my socks off: “Take the dog to the vet!” Now it’s not as if I hadn’t taken the dog to the vet before – I’ve been doing that many times! Why suddenly this urgency? As it turned out, I could only get to the vet on Thursday evening.

Only then did the vet do tests and discovered that poor Katie had at some stage been bitten – it could have been several years ago – by a sand fly which causes the same effect as a malaria mosquito: it infests the system with parasites. This parasitic infestation causes the immune system to really struggle hard and as Katie had already had blows to hers, in addition to all those antibiotics, things were not easy for her. I’m relieved to say, she is now under treatment for Leishmaniasis – if you are a dog owner, Google it, it’s worth it to be forewarned.

That night I woke up covered in hives … but luckily I realised that there was a cause for it and took steps to correct it; all gone within thirty-six hours.

On Friday morning it was back to the vet again for the blood tests of both the dogs and another long wait. On Monday morning I managed to catch urine samples from both dogs for further testing to see if this disease had damaged kidneys or not. It seems that Jessie is not affected, but this is just to be on the safe side.

It was a week I would never wish to repeat – EVER! But I do know that Donald was trying everything he was capable of to get my attention … I firmly believe that there are no coincidences! At least I didn’t have to consult a medium like Whoopi!

UPDATE: The urine test results indicated slight protein leakage in Katie which  means as from tomorrow there will be additional medication and a special diet. Thank goodness, Jessie is unaffected. And so, life goes on …

2 responses to “THAT WAS THE WEEK THAT WAS

  1. What a horrid time for you and poor Katie so relieved that after all she is getting better, silly weather here mid 20’s and just a chilly start to the day. Can’t seem to shake off the wretched cough & cold I picked up in Yorkshire but doing my best. Lots of hugs and love to you three! P xxxx

    : Sent from Penny’s iPad

    • Oh, my sweet Pen, please look after yourself!!!! Katie is not interested in the new food she is supposed to eat and that means I’ll have to administer the syrup part of the medication in a more undignified way – straight down the throat with the syringe … but what must be done, must be done! She’s supposed to love the syrup medication spread on the new biscuits to the point where she is supposed to lick the plate clean … not our Katie though! Why do animals have to be so stubborn? Never mind, I will win!!!

      Lots of love, ME

Leave a Reply

